February 20

Safety Instrumented System PDF eBook

Safety Instrumented System PDF eBook for 2024

We have just finished updating our popular Safety Instrumented System PDF eBook for 2024.

As this is a short introductory guide, we're happy to provide this for Free. You can download a free copy using the button at the foot of this page.

Introduction to the eBook

This eBook guide focuses on the IEC 61511 standard for safety instrumented systems - SIS - specialist protection layers used to prevent hazardous events escalating to threaten life, the environment and company assets.

The IEC 61511 standard outlines a functional safety lifecycle for the process industry sector and is now internationally accepted by operating companies and regulators worldwide. The safety lifecycle provides an outline flowchart detailing the stages of different activities needed to assess hazards and then develop instrumented protection layers to prevent or mitigate risk.

What is this topic about?

As working individuals, we accept risk on a daily basis. There are numerous examples of this; from simply travelling to get to work, to working in environments that are inherently hazardous. We typically accept some level of greater risk because we receive a benefit in the form of payment or other reward.

Achieving a tolerably safe environment when working with hazardous substances can be challenging. Those who work in and around industrial processes will be required to wear appropriate personal protective equipment (PPE), but on its own PPE will not be enough if there are significant hazards that cannot be easily controlled or predicted.

In designing processes to be as safe as possible, Process Safety principles ensure correctly designed pipes, vessels and equipment with the right materials to withstand extremes of temperature, pressure and corrosiveness.

Where extremes can lead to loss of containment events, Functional Safety principles ensure that Safety Instrumented Functions in the SIS get a Safety Integrity Level (SIL) applied.

What is in the eBook?

Designed for those who are new to the topics, the eBook provides an outline of the IEC 61511 safety lifecycle, broken down into typical project stages, with a practical flowchart for each stage.

Topics outlined include:

  • Functional safety management - people, planning and procedures
  • Hazard and risk assessment.
  • LOPA and SIL targets
  • Safety Requirements Specification
  • SIS design and engineering
  • Installation and commissioning (SAT)
  • Functional Safety Assessment and Audit
  • Management of Change
  • SIS Documentation
  • Software for the Safety Lifecycle.

Get Your Personal Copy

About the author

Jon Keswick, CFSE

Jon Keswick is a Certified Functional Safety Expert (CFSE) and founder of eFunctionalSafety. Feel free to make contact via Linked-In or comment on any of the eFunctionalSafety blog pages.

Related posts

{"email":"Email address invalid","url":"Website address invalid","required":"Required field missing"}
Success message!
Warning message!
Error message!